It’s The Little Things In Life

There are some days that are just harder than others for no particular reason. Nothing life changing may have happened to me, yet I still feel the crushing weight of anxiety laying heavy on my shoulders. On these days in particular I tend to zone out from the world, trying to escape into the world in my head. But it’s crazy scary in there. There are things I haven’t thought about in years up there, and they are waiting to mess up my life again.

So instead of letting myself be consumed by those thoughts, I instead try to find one good thing. Just one. It doesn’t have to be anything exciting or glamorous or expensive. It just has to calm me down. I’m not gonna lie, food and I, well, we have a kismet connection. You could even argue that food is my soulmate. Especially if it’s carb loaded and absolutely no good for me. So sometimes, when I want to feel something good, I buy one of my favorite foods, and just savor it. None of that, shove-it-into-your- face-while-binge-watching-Netflix kind of eating either. The slow, deliberate act of tasting is all it takes. Just something to get me feeling something good again.

Like I said, it’s the little things that really do it.

Over and out.

One thought on “It’s The Little Things In Life

Leave a Reply

