Fear of Missing Out

When you have anxiety, one of your biggest fears (besides triggering a panic attack) is the fear of missing out, also known as FoMO. I know this, because through my high school years it was always on my mind. I just wasn’t like the other teenagers in my school. I didn’t date, I didn’t go to parties and I didn’t even really hang out with my friends outside of school. I know, I sound pretty pathetic right?

But even though I wasn’t involved in any of these things and turned down invitations that would allow me to be a normal teenager, I still felt bad about the experiences I was missing out on. I always felt like I was going to regret not going to a movie with that friend or not going to the mall with everyone else. Simple things like that, things I just couldn’t bring myself to do, ate away at me.

I would look at my classmates Facebook pages and see all the fun they were having and how easy it was for them to have new adventures and try new things. Why couldn’t I be like that? Why wasn’t I strong enough to do the things I wanted to do? I felt useless. I felt left out.

Looking back, I don’t think I was ready for that kind of life. I didn’t feel comfortable enough with anyone to actually be myself and take a chance. My social anxiety was still ruling even the smallest aspects of my day. It dictate what I wore and every little thing I said. I’ve grown so much since then. Of course, there are still things I cannot do. But the difference is, I don’t feel like I’m missing out anymore. I know in my heart that I am doing the best I can. And that’s all that matters. Over and out my friends.

2 thoughts on “Fear of Missing Out

  1. I missed out a lot as well. I avoided school parties/events/clubs like the plague and didn’t attend high school prom. I can only count one person in high school who I legitimately could call a friend, and even with her I was the most socially awkward person ever because I could hardly talk without feeling terribly self conscious about literally everything I said. The result was I was often quiet, not bc I had nothing to say but bc I was too scared to say what was on my mind.

    Now as an adult I am still trying to figure things out. I’ve found meetup.com is a great way to find local groups and events to go to, however, I often second guess myself before I actually show up. Meeting new people is scary, but it sucks even more to not go and be sitting at home wondering what I’m missing out on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

