A Little Therapy, Courtesy of My Rapidly Growing Book Collection

I’m just going to come right out and say it. No shame. No pretense. Here it is: I am a total bookworm. If you were to get to know me personally you would know that I almost always have some sort of book or reading material on me at all times. Whether it’s a textbook in my backpack, a novel in my purse, or an e-book on my phone, I always have a book. Why? Because it is my own personal form of escape from what’s going on in my head.

For as long as I can remember I have loved reading. When I was a kid, I remember going to the library every week, loading up on books and reading them all before the week was over. In high school I was pretty much the same. Almost all my study halls were dedicated to reading novels instead of doing homework. In my college years I rarely have time for novels during the school year so I settle for textbooks and required readings.

I’ve always had an addiction for good books and I’ve never been able to stop buying them. This addiction, however, is not just about how much I love to read a good story. It’s also, in part about my anxiety.

One of the ways books help me is that they take me away from my problems. When I’m reading, I can fully immerse myself into the story to the point where the real world and all of its problems no longer exist. For the extent of that book, I don’t have to think about anything else. I have certain books that help me when I’m in certain moods and I have brand new books that help me when I want a fresh start. No matter what is going on in my life, books are always there for me. Books will never leave me.

On the other hand, they also allow me to hide from people. Don’t want to talk to anyone on your break today? Pull out your trusty book and they’ll leave you alone! It’s not that I don’t want to talk to them per say, it’s more like I often don’t know what to say or how to keep the conversation going. Their words are like little daggers of insecurity and uncertainty, and my book is like my shield, protecting me from the unknown. I have no idea if anyone else does this, but for me it’s become more than just a habit to pull out my book when I’m feeling uncomfortable or when I just can’t be social, you know?

Even though my book addiction has it’s downfalls by helping me avoid my problems, overall it’s my lifesaver. I don’t where I’d be without books and I really don’t want to ever find out. Does anyone else feel this way? If so, please let me know. I’d love to hear how reading helps you or even what books you’d recommend! Over and out my friends.

 

Leave a Reply

