We Are Not Alone

Some days, when my anxiety is just getting really bad and my mind is going back into that dark and scary place, I feel like I am all alone in the world. I’ve often felt like no one can understand what I’m going through. But of course, when I drag myself out of that dark hole I’ve fallen into, I realize that I am not alone. There are millions of people with anxiety that so clearly understand my life, but the problem is that I don’t know many of them and again I go back to feeling alone in the world.

I often feel like this when people have a bad reaction to my anxiety by telling me “it’s not a really thing” or “you’re just looking for an excuse”. I honestly hate comments like those because you know what they trigger? My freaking anxiety, that’s what. No wonder I have such a hard time opening up to people if they’re just going to act that way. But there are so many others going through similar experiences and they understand my plight. In fact, some of them are amazing bloggers with really interesting stories to tell and I’d like to give a brief shout out to one of them in this post.

Justanervousgirl (aka Nat) has been incredibly amazing at having an open dialogue with me on my blog about her experiences with social anxiety. Her struggles with anxiety often so closely mirror mine that I feel (probably for the first time in awhile) that I am not alone in my daily battle.

Her blog is similar to mine in the sense that she talks openly and freely about her experiences with anxiety. One of her recent posts, “Triggered” really grabbed me. It was honest, detailed and really made me understand a slice of her day through her eyes. I could really relate to what she was going through, right down to the thoughts she was thinking, and it was incredibly helpful to read that. So thank you, Nat. Thank you so much. I encourage everyone to check out her blog as well because it is truly amazing! That’s all for now. Over and out my friends.

One thought on “We Are Not Alone

  1. Hey there. 🙂 I’m glad the stuff I’ve wrote about on my blog has helped you see that you’re not alone. I enjoy talking to you, and similarly to you, I’ve found myself reading your posts and seeing myself in your experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

