Almost Ruining Things By Overthinking

If there is an arch nemesis for people with anxiety, I’d have to say it’s name is “Overthinking” because that guy ruins my life all the freaking time. No matter where I go or what I do, there it is, waiting for me. We all know there’s no escaping your own mind forever, therefore one’s arch nemesis will always be there, lurking in the shadows, waiting to pounce at the slightest hint of trouble.

Overthinking can cause problems that aren’t even there. I should know, I do this every day. Did they take too long to text back? Well then, I guess they hate me! So you’re canceling on me last minute again? Oh, well, that’s fine, I mean I thought I meant more to you than that but OK! You didn’t laugh at my joke, huh? I can never make another joke again now can I? Almost every interaction I have sets off my anxiety and pushes me in ways I’d rather not be pushed.

I often tend to just mentally destroy myself by overthinking every little thing, which is not exactly healthy for my social relationships. I have recently noticed myself getting mad at people for the tiniest little things and then getting mad at myself for overthinking! Some days I find myself falling back into that vicious circle where all my emotions come rising to the surface and no matter what I can’t push them back down. Unless the depression hits, then it all goes away. Every little feeling sinks into the pit of my stomach and pushes me into a state of being I’ve never fully understood. I have no idea if I ever will understand it. But that’s a major part of life, isn’t it? The mystery.

One thought on “Almost Ruining Things By Overthinking

  1. Overthinking has kept me from going to most social events lately. 😦 The thoughts I have are so persistent and ridiculous but I don’t know how to get out of this hole. I always think no one is going to like me and even if they want to talk to me, I will f*ck things up by being a terrible conversationalist or blanking out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

